Skip navigation

3 Minutes with Photographer Trey Ratcliff: “

If you spend any amount of time online you’re likely to have been exposed to the work of Trey Ratcliff, who is also known as Stuck In Customs. Having developed a unique approach and style of HDR he’s developed a rabid following, resulting in his work being viewed over 16 million times on Flickr. Trey has a wealth of knowledge to share in regard to his well received approach to using HDR and he’s been kind enough to take part in this weeks ‘3 Minutes with…’

What gear do you use? 

I have the sweet lady ‘Nikon D3x .  She completes me.  Besides that, I use several pieces of software, the particulars of which are outlined inside my HDR Tutorial.  These include but are not limited to Photomatix, LucisArt, and, of course, Photoshop.

Describe your photography in 100 words or less

I have my own interpretation of HDR photography, as you might detect from my work.  My history is a strange combination of growing up blind in one eye and then majoring in computer science.  I’ve always thought about the brain, the eye, and the manipulation of light in terms of algorithms.  I give deep thought into how we store scenes and emotions in our mind’s eye, and I seek to achieve, photographically, a palpaple sense to the world around us.

What’s one quick tip that you’d give people getting into photography to help them improve?

The best tip is perhaps the one that I hit hard in my tutorial:  Although existing HDR algorithms are good and getting better, they must be re-mixed with an original RAW to ensure that proper balance is returned to the scene.


What 3 Photography Sites or Photoblogs do you Recommend?

1)  Flickr’s Explore page – That Explore function is pretty good.  I can always find unique shots from accomplished and up-and-coming photographers by just constantly refreshing 

2)  Abduzeedo – This is a great site for artistic inspiration.  If you are the kind of photographer that finds inspiration in things outside of traditional photography, I recommend 

3)  Smashing Magazine – This is another unexpected source of inspiration – a very nice collection of art and other great work that is going on across the web

Read more about Trey ’s work on his blog

(Via Digital Photography School.)

Leave a Reply

